15 July - 23 August

Fourteen artists aged 18-25 years have been awarded Leverhulme Arts Scholarships to work at Wysing as part of a new Summer School residency programme funded by the Leverhulme Trust. 

Leverhulme Arts Scholarships

Leverhulme Arts Scholars were offered this opportunity following an open call for applications, and the programme will draw on Wysing’s extensive experience of nurturing artistic talent.  During 2013, all of the artists working in residence at Wysing have been invited to explore ideas around hidden systems and structures under the title Convention T.

Leverhulme Arts Scholars will work intensively from studios at Wysing’s rural site, and follow a dynamic programme of group workshop activity aimed at developing their practices.  

The scholars will also participate in a mentoring programme led by established artists who have a history of working with Wysing; Lawrence Epps, Cally Spooner, Mark Aerial Waller, Caroline Wendling and Caroline Wright, and The Leverhulme Arts Scholars will take part in a public presentation of new work developed during the Summer School.

Leverhulme Arts Scholars 2013 are: Lara A’Court, Joss Allen, Guy Broadhurst, Hannah Clarkson, Jack Cornell, Katherine Fishman, Lucy Hodgkiss, Kyle Kirkpatrick, James Madden, Adam McGowan, Rebecca Moss, Maria Teresa Ortoleva, Rachel Rayns and Kari Robertson.

An exhibition of work produced by the Scholars during their time at Wysing will take place in Wysing's gallery on Wednesday and Thursday, 21 & 22 August, 12-5pm. Plus an evening reception will mark the close of their residency on Thursday 22 August, 7-9pm, all welcome. For information on the exhibition click here.